Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Guide to Hampshire College Special Collections

Five College Museums Database

Search for objects in the Collections Database of the Five College Museums and Historic Deerfield Consortium

Museums 10

This source contains information about items for seven museums in the Pioneer Valley: the Mead Art Museum at Amherst College, Hampshire College Art Gallery, Historic Deerfield, Mount Holyoke College Art Museum, Joseph Allen Skinner Museum of Mount Holyoke College, the Smith College Museum of Art, and the University Museum of Contemporary Art at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. This online resource explores art, literature, history, and natural world.

This resource contains information about fossils and minerals collected locally and around the world.

The Emily Dickenson Museum contains nearly 8,000 objects that reflect the lives of the Dickenson family. This website will guide you through the museum offerings, which includes additional resources for students and teachers.

The Eric Carle Museum of Picture book Art is located on Hampshire's campus. In addition to curating programs and events, the museum houses more than 11,000 objects, including 7,300 permanent collection illustrations, three art galleries, an art studio, a theater, picture book and scholarly libraries, and educational programs for families, scholars, educators, and schoolchildren, according to their website.

The Hampshire College Art Gallery is primarily as an exhibition space concentrating on, but not limited to, the visual arts.

Historic Deerfield's collections center around the preservation of centuries-old buildings and household goods. They have 28,000 artifacts including furniture, metal wares, textiles, needlework, and ceramics.

"The Mead holds the art collection of Amherst College, celebrated for its American and European paintings, Mexican ceramics, Tibetan scroll paintings, English paneled room, ancient Assyrian carvings, Russian avant-garde art, West African sculpture and Japanese prints."

The permanent collections of this museum include over 24,000 works of art, decorative art, and material and visual culture from all over the world. Materials can be viewed in their Special Collections. Some of the most prominent works are ancient Mediterranean art and artifacts, paintings, sculpture, and decorative art from Europe and the United States, and modern and global contemporary art. There is a vast amount of photography, glass, ceramics, prints and drawings, and numismatics.

Their museum’s collection now comprises more than 27,000 objects, representing the diversity of art and material culture across periods and geographies.

The University Museum of Contemporary Art is currently involved in a  Five College Museums/Historic Deerfield computerization project. Appointments can be made to view original artworks upon request.

The Yiddish Book Center is an invaluable resource right on Hampshire's campus. The million books recovered by the Yiddish Book Center represent Jews’ first sustained literary and cultural encounter with the modern world.

Finding Aids to Five College Archives and Manuscripts

Archives and manuscripts are primary sources - historical records that provide detailed knowledge of the life of the era in which the material originated. The letters, diaries, reports, photographs, account books, maps and artifacts held in these collections provide raw materials that can be used to study, analyze, and interpret our history and culture.