Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections

Guide to Hampshire College Special Collections

Special Collection Hours

Special Collections are open during regular library hours.

Where are Special Collections Located?

The vast majority of Hampshire College Special Collections are stored on the second floor of the Harold F. Johnson Library. The Seydel Reading Room and the Bradford Room adjacent to the reading room contain various rare books and items and in our collections. Some of the rare books may be viewed form outside of the cases in the Reading Room, however, we encourage students and researchers to inquire about further access to our unique collections. All materials belonging to Special Collections must stay in Special Collections.

What to Expect During Your Visit

Researchers are able to view materials at a table in the Bradford Room. We ask that all drinks and food be left outside. Only pencils are permitted in the Bradford Room in order to protect our collections.

Special Collections for Classes

Faculty are encouraged to collaborate and hold classes with Archive and Library staff, where students can work directly with primary sources. Our staff are happy to discuss ways that we can tailor workshops and classes to suit subjects of interests. We also hold basic information sessions to introduce students to research with our unique materials and other resources in the Pioneer Valley. Please enquire about how we may be able to work with you and your students. 

Contact

For Special Collections, please contact Rachel Beckwith: rbeckwith@hampshire.edu.

For more about the Hampshire College Archives, please email: archives@hampshire.edu