Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion

General web sites for religious studies

  • Internet Sacred Text Archive Nonprofit archive of electronic texts in religion, mythology, folklore, the occult, and esoteric topics.
  • CDRI: Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative Digitized images from theological libraries including woodcuts, photographs, iconography, coins, maps, slides of French medieval cathedrals, and the like.
  • Religious movements Seeking to promote religious tolerance, this site links to the homepages of religious cults and movements worldwide. From the University of Virginia.

    Web sites for specific religions

     

    • Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies: Research  Describes current research projects and also provides access to lectures.
    • Chinese Buddhist Encyclopedia  An advanced online source of Buddhist knowledge, bringing together Chinese and English speaking Buddhist academics, students and organizations such as universities, temples, monasteries and communities.
    • BuddhaNet A searchable information network features a BuddhaZine , guided meditation and other audio files, downloadable e-books and articles (Adobe Acrobat Reader required), information on Meditation Techniques , an online guide for studying Buddhism, information on Buddhist history and culture, a World Buddhist Directory , a directory of Buddhist Hospices & HIV/AIDS prevention and care programs, events information, and a browsable collection of related links.
    • Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center A database of Tibetan texts in literature and history.
    • Greek Mythology Link A collection of myths retold by Carlos Parada, containing texts, images, charts, and maps. The mythical accounts are based exclusively on ancient sources.
    • Islamic studies, Islam, Arabic and Religion Selective, scholarly guide to Islamic resources on the web. Includes primary texts and documents and secondary sources. Created by a specialist in Islamic studies at the University of Georgia.
    • Religion-Online For Christian theological study.
    • Yale Divinity Digital Image and Text Library Images relating to the Bible, geographic locations, objects, and topics. Important source for archaeology and classics as well as Biblical studies. Includes subsets on the history of Christianity and on biblical studies.
    • Resources for the study of Buddhism Contains a short introductory reading list; links to general sites, Sutras, and texts; and links and writings related to Buddhism and children, Theravada and Mahayana teachings, science, vegetarianism, animal welfare, death and dying, and respect for parents. Compiled by Dr. Ron Epstein, Philosophy Department, San Francisco State University.