It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
resources for finding art images, books, journal articles and more
Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Art Abstracts' international coverage encompasses periodicals published in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and Dutch, focused on a broad range of art topics, including advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture and art history.
An invaluable, in-depth record of art history between the years of 1929-1984, Art Index Retrospective allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, Ph.D. dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
The IBA is a resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records cover scholarship from the year 2008 to 2009, and ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards.
"Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) is the leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. [... DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion & clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture..] , etc.
Scholarly articles in over 150 academic journals. Articles date from the 1800s up to a "moving wall" of between one and eight years before the present. Coverage includes the arts, business, general science, the humanities, and social science.
Journal for Artistic Research (JAR)
The Journal for Artistic Research(JAR) "..is an inter-national, online, Open Access and peer-reviewed journal for the identification, publication and dissemination of artistic research and its methodologies, from all arts disciplines."