Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Victorian Studies

Web sites for Victorian Studies


   * The Victorian Web      Links to resources on British literature, history, and culture during the age of Victoria, compiled by Brown University.

   * British Library: Victorians    An illustrative tour that uses  posters, pamphlets, diaries, political reports, and illustrations to  tell about this seven-decade stretch of the 19th century.  A set of essays by Liza Picard explore topics like "The Working Classes and the Poor" and "The Rise of Technology and Industry."  This link on Victorian Literature covers Dickens and Rossetti to Penny Dreadfuls. 

* NINES - Nineteenth-century Scholarship Online     NINES stands for Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship and is an organization that publishes and provides enhanced access to digital research on the 19th century and serves as a peer-reviewing body for digital resources in this area.  Recently added a database which catalogues early Victorian penny fiction.


    * The Victorian Studies Bibliography   Lists noteworthy books, articles, and reviews on the Victorian period. Compiled by the staff of the journal Victorian Studies and representatives from the Victorian Division of the Modern Language Association 

* The Victorian Dictionary     Compiled by Lee Jackson, an author of historical thrillers and nonfiction about Victorian London, this site is a searchable collection of excerpts from books, pamphlets, academic works and periodicals, original writings by the author, and images (including many from Punch). The site is worth a look for online researchers, although, as the author notes in his bibliography, serious scholars should consult an original copy of the materials referenced.

* The Dickens Project      An excellent bibliography of critical studies of Dickens' work and many useful links to research websites. From the University of California.

Other good literature sites