From the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, this site includes short articles and primary sources that look at how different groups have had to prove their "Americanness" in times of conflict, from the American Revolution to the Civil Rights Movement.
A rich, interactive site that offers a view into life on Angel Island in San Francisco. The site uses poetry (in Chinese and English), music, a timeline, and a gallery of artifacts to give the user a sense of life for immigrant detainees on the island.
A site that attempts to bring attention to the problems of US border control. By handing out disposable cameras to both migrants coming from Mexico and anti-immigration Minutemen living in the US, this project offers powerful visual imagery.
CIS is an independent think tank that looks at the impact of immigration on life in the US. This website includes hundreds of articles and videos on immigration today and throughout modern history. Articles are easily searchable by subject area.
Culture of the American 1950s A rich site of literary and
historical links covering all aspects of the 50s; includes newsreels,
posters, photographs, and audio files. Maintained by Alan Filreis of the
University of Pennsylvania.
Descriptions of letters, diaries, reports, photographs, account books, maps, and artifacts in the Five College archives. Includes Hampshire College manuscript collections. Primarily a directory but the documents are just a bus ride away.
Tables from 1790 to 1960. Can select multiple data sets. Not as complete as the new census material for 1990,2000 & soon to be 2010 at http://www.census.gov/, but much easier than the paper equivalent.