Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HACU 196: American Modernisms

Some archival resources in American modernist literature

  • American Memory     Vast collection of primary sources from the Library of Congress, includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
  •  
  • Documenting the American South: Beginnings to 1920   A full-text database of primary resources on Southern literature and history from the University of North Carolina.
  • Ad*Access   Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: radio; television; transportation; beauty and hygiene; and World War II.
  • Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920   A database of over 9,000 images representing a unique collection of advertising history and a significant contribution to the study of American culture. A complement to Ad*Access, listed abov

General web links for American literature

Other good literature sites

  • Poets.org Biographical information, news about performances, and a growing body of full-text poems. Created and maintained by the Academy of American Poets.
  • The Poetry Archive An online collection of audio recordings of contemporary and historic poems, searchable by poet, by title, by theme, and by form.

Columns and blogs on literature