Latin American Studies: Primary Sources

• Hemispheric Institute of Performance & Politics (HIPP) is a collaborative, multilingual and interdisciplinary network of institutions, artists, scholars, and activists throughout the Americas. Working at the intersection of scholarship, artistic expression and politics, the organization explores embodied practice—performance—as a vehicle for the creation of new meaning and the transmission of cultural values, memory and identity.

• LLILAS Benson Digital Collections provides numerous digital archival collections including oral histories, multimedia, and government documents.

• European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

• Expeditions & "Discoveries"

From Harvard University, this collection offers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953.

• History of Science in Latin America & the Caribbean

Resources are organized by topic, around thematic essays.

• Latin American Travelogues

The goal of this project is to create a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries.

• dLOC - Digital Library of the Caribbean dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
   
• Latin American Open Archives Portal The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.