Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives

The College Archives is the repository for non-current Hampshire College records having permanent, historical, legal, fiscal, or administrative value. The archives also holds Div IIIs as well as professional and personal papers of some faculty and alumni.

Archives Access for Fall 2020

Fall 2020: The  Archives and Special Collections is currently closed in accordance with college protocol during the COVID-19  containment period. Consultations with the College Archivist will be available via Zoom or Google Meet to faculty, staff, and students. Please contact us with research questions, concerns, or comments at archives@hampshire.edu.

 

To Hampshire faculty, please reach out if the College Archivist can assist with your remote teaching plans. For additional guidance, please email archives@hampshire.edu.

 

Other members of the Hampshire community who would like to access material from Archives and Special Collections should also contact archives@hampshire.edu.

 

Due to the nature of our non-circulating materials and in order to best utilize the collections, access is by appointment only. Please contact us to schedule research appointments at least one business day in advance.

Phone: 413.559.5704

Email: archives@hampshire.edu

Website: https://www.hampshire.edu/library/archives-and-special-collections

Where is the College Archives?

At this time, the College Archives does not have a formal reading room. The archival holdings are dispersed throughout the ground and 3rd floor of the library.  The office of the College Archivist, Jessica C. Neal, is located on the 1st floor of the Harold F. Johnson Library. The Special Collections are located on the 2nd floor in the Bradford Room. The Special Collections are best known for art and rare literary materials. If you want to research people and places not necessarily related to the College, the Special Collections may have material of interest to you.

                         

 

Visit the Harold F. Johnson Library website to search for materials in the Hampshire College Archives and Special Collections. There, you will find over 5,000 results that include a range of materials. Information regarding access to materials can be found by clicking on each item. Please contact archives@hampshire.edu for College Archives and Special Collections, or rbeckwith@hampshire.edu for  for rare books. You can also email archives@hampshire.edu for any general questions regarding the materials. Currently, the library is inviting patrons to make virtual appointments to view items in our collections.

Need help with a class?

Working on a research assignment?

Preparing a class session for students to use primary sources?

Not sure where to go? 

The College Archives and Special Collections provide a vibrant range of materials with which to conduct research and engage classes using original sources.

Contact the College Archives and Special Collections to help you get started using our collections and staff expertise:

College Archives: Please contact the College Archivist in advance at archives@hampshire.edu for access to archival materials, special collections, or research assistance.  

Rare Books in Special Collections: Director of Library, rbeckwith@hampshire.edu for access to rare books in our Special Collections or for research assistance. 

Review Archives Resources, Finding Aids, and Plan a Visit. 

Review the All Resource Guides for general topics.