Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives

The College Archives is the repository for non-current Hampshire College records having permanent, historical, legal, fiscal, or administrative value. The archives also holds Div IIIs as well as professional and personal papers of some faculty and alumni.

Collection Access Points

Online Sources

ArchivesSpace: ArchivesSpace is a web application for sharing information about archival collections. The College Archives uses ArchivesSpace to create access for researchers to holdings information via finding aids (descriptions of resources and collections). ArchivesSpace may be browsed or and searched by keyword. While some records have links to digital collections, most resources require a visit to the Archives.

Collections A-Z: An alphabetical list of named special collections is in the Harold F. Johnson Library.  Browse by collection name or search by subject group.  

Compass: Compass is a centralized repository and platform for the three colleges to store, manage and publish digital objects on the Web. For researchers and campus communities it serves as a single point of access for culturally unique resources held by the partner institutions. Compass is a collaboratively developed infrastructure to support shared maintenance and stewardship of critical archival and scholarly materials. Unlike previously implemented systems, Compass employs a flexible digital object model (FEDORA) that allows for complex relationships and compound objects, and offers fine grained control for honoring diverse access conditions.

Archive-IT: is a subscription-based service that allows institutions to have whole domains or subdomains crawled and archived at regular intervals (e.g., daily, weekly, yearly, etc.). When Archive-IT scans pages, it compares them to the last archived version and only saves a fresh copy of webpage content if that content has actually changed. In this way, it can be extremely vigilant in tracking changes but also highly efficient in data storage. It also crawls and archives files linked or embedded within web pages, including pdfs, docs, images, and videos, in essence re-creating a fully-functional historical website and not merely a collection of webpage snapshots.

Finding Other Archives' Collections:

There are a few decent databases to help you find other archival repositories and collections that might match your research question. To start, try ArchiveGrid and Archive Finder, but you can also try WorldCat and Google.

Five Colleges 

University of Massachusetts Amherst Special Collections & University Archives 

UMass has exceptional holdings for African American history and culture; organized labor; the peace, antiwar, and antinuclear movements; political and cultural radicalism; alternative societies; spiritual approaches to social change; and the history of agriculture, with an increasing emphasis on organic agriculture and sustainability. In addition to the major areas of collecting interest, SCUA is home to an eclectic assortment of materials documenting Revolutionary-era France and Belgium (1789-1848); the history of protistology; and the American study of Japan.

 

Amherst College 

The Archives & Special Collections at Amherst College holds over 80,000 books and 11,000 linear feet of archival material. The department houses major collections of Emily Dickinson and Richard Wilbur books and manuscripts, along with one of the largest collections of Native American literature in the United States.

 

Smith College

The Smith College Special Collections houses the college's various rare book, manuscript, and archival collections. They have college archives, the Mortimer Rare Book Collection, and the Sophia Smith Collection of Women’s History, which is the oldest and one of the largest collections of women’s history in the world.

 

Mount Holyoke College 

Mount Holyoke College collects, preserves and shares the stories of the Mount Holyoke community — its people and its physical places — from the school’s founding in 1837 to the present day. Materials that patrons can use for research and teaching in Archives and Special Collections include photographs, letters, diaries, scrapbooks, rare books and much more.