Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives

The College Archives is the repository for non-current Hampshire College records having permanent, historical, legal, fiscal, or administrative value. The archives also holds Div IIIs as well as professional and personal papers of some faculty and alumni.

Where is the College Archives?

At this time, the College Archives does not have a formal reading room. The archival holdings are dispersed throughout the ground and 3rd floor of the library.  The office of the College Archivist, Jessica C. Neal, is located on the 1st floor of the Harold F. Johnson Library. The Special Collections are located on the 2nd floor in the Bradford Room. The Special Collections are best known for art and rare literary materials. If you want to research people and places not necessarily related to the College, the Special Collections may have material of interest to you.

                         

 

Visit the Harold F. Johnson Library website to search for materials in the Hampshire College Archives and Special Collections. There, you will find over 5,000 results that include a range of materials. Information regarding access to materials can be found by clicking on each item. Please contact archives@hampshire.edu for College Archives and Special Collections, or rbeckwith@hampshire.edu for  for rare books. You can also email archives@hampshire.edu for any general questions regarding the materials. Currently, the library is inviting patrons to make virtual appointments to view items in our collections.