Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives

The College Archives is the repository for non-current Hampshire College records having permanent, historical, legal, fiscal, or administrative value. The archives also holds Div IIIs as well as professional and personal papers of some faculty and alumni.

Collections Overview

Material in the College Archives can be found through the online finding aids. These include collections documenting Hampshire history, faculty and staff collections, photograph collections, audio-visual material, and more. Please contact the College Archives for assistance or visit the College Archives website for additional information.

College Archives:

Board of Trustee Records (restricted for 50 years from the date of creation)

President's Papers (restricted for 25 years from the date of creation)

Administrative Records

Faculty Papers

Alumni Papers

Student Records

Topical Files

Audio Visual Materials

College and Student Publications

Posters

Photographs and Prints

Special Collections:

Robert Seydel Collection

Robert W. Lisle Collection

Kate Pulitizer Freedburg Collection 

Karin DiGia Collection

Archives Record Groups

 Materials can be found in the archives in accordance with the record groups listed below. 

Board of Trustees HCA 01
Office of the President HCA 02
Administrative Offices HCA 03
Campus Centers, Services, Offices HCA 04
School of Critical Social Inquiry HCA 05
School of Humanities, Arts, and Cultural Studies HCA 06
School of Interdisciplinary Arts HCA 07
School of Natural Science HCA 08
Harold F. Johnson Library HCA 09
Hampshire College Art Gallery HCA 10
Audiovisual Materials HCA 11
DIV III Collection HCA 12
Student Life HCA 13
Faculty and Staff Records HCA 14
Publications HCA 15
Alumni HCA 16
Web Archives HCA 17
Buildings and Grounds HCA 18
Hampshire College Image Collection HCA 19

 

Subjects

The College Archives are a rich and diverse resource for students, faculty, and other researchers from a variety of disciplines. The collections are particularly strong in the following areas:

History of Hampshire College

Student life

College Publications 

Administrative Records

Photographs and Prints

College Publications

Student Publications

All student publications can be found in the college archives. Publications include:

The Climax, 1971-1981; 2003-2014

 

Apos’trophe, 1981-1984

 

In Black and White, 1985-1987 

 

Communiqué, 1984-1985

 

The Permanent Press, 1987-1992

 

Hampshire Community Newspaper/The Hampshire Examiner, 1992-1993

 

 The Phoenix, 1993-1996       

 

The Forward, 1997-2003

 

Hampshire Publications 

 

Non Satis Scire, Hampshire's Alumni Magazine, 2016-2018

  The alumni magazine is now exclusively online.

 

The Omen, 1992-Present

The Omen is also available on campus and online.

 

The Beta, 2002-2008

 

The Reader, 1990-2018

 

Source, 1989-Undetermined

 

Daddy, 1989- Undetermined