Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Archives

The College Archives is the repository for non-current Hampshire College records having permanent, historical, legal, fiscal, or administrative value. The archives also holds Div IIIs as well as professional and personal papers of some faculty and alumni.

Citing Archival Sources

Citing Archival Sources

All archival materials must be properly cited and credited to the Hampshire College Archives and Special Collections.

  • Permission to publish, reproduce or display many unpublished documentary sources, beyond the bounds of “fair use,” must be obtained from the holder of the copyright. It is the researcher’s responsibility to secure that permission. The archives’ furnishing of a print or digital copy for private study is not authorization to publish. Furthermore, the written permission of the Archives and Special Collections must be obtained, before publication, to use any item or quotation beyond fair use. Please consult with the College Archivist about specific collection guidelines and be prepared to complete our License for Use of Reproduction form. 
  • When citing archival materials, focus on helping the reader identify what is being cited and where it is located; thus include the following elements:
    • Repository where the item is held.  Example: Hampshire College, Archives and Special Collections 
    • Collection in which the item is found. Example: Lynn Miller papers.
    • Series in which the item is found. Example: Research and writings of Lynn Miller.
    • Folder title in which the item is found (if available). Example: Research Materials.
    • The document itself, including page, section, or date information, where necessary. Example: Selective Effect of Ingestion of Egg in Raising Plasma Low Density Lipoproteins in Free-Living Humans, undated. 

The form your citation will take depends on where it appears within your paper and the citation format specified by your professor or editor.  The Department of Special Collections & University Archives  at Marquette University has prepared a very useful document titled Guide to Citing Archival Sources that has been adopted in the Archives and Special Collections at Hampshire College to use as a resource that provides guidance using several common style guides.